The United Kingdom will require a visa from Salvadorans due to an increase in asylum requests

The new visa requirements, effective immediately this day, apply to all Salvadorans traveling to the UK.

By Luis Alberto López

The Savior. – The Embassy of the United Kingdom in El Salvador reported that, from 11 May 2022, all citizens of El Salvador will need to obtain a visa in advance before traveling to or through the UK.

The new visa requirements, effective immediately this day, apply to all Salvadorans traveling to the UK.

The British Government has introduced a system so that Salvadorans can apply for their visas from El Salvador, no need to travel to another country.

There will be a four-week transition period until Wednesday 8 of June, during which visitors who have purchased their trip before the 09:00 Central America Time (16:00 BST/ 15:00 GMT) of the 11 May they will be able to enter the UK without a visa.

The first session of the Center is scheduled to operate 19 Y 20 of May, with the aim of allowing applicants to receive their visas before the end of the transition period of the 8 of June, with a future application center session planned for early June.

The decision to introduce a visa regime was taken due to the sustained and significant increase in recent 5 years in the number of Salvadorans who do not intend to make a short visit, instead submit asylum applications on arrival in the UK.

Prior to 2017 the UK received less than 40 Salvadoran asylum applications each year; in 2021 the figure was 703.